Appreciating Multiplicity is a Necessity of Life

As a part of the 3rd wave feminist philosophy, I firmly believe in appreciating diversity, multiplicity, and plurality. And I know that I would not be a feminist today if it weren’t for the amazing women who have come before me.

However, too often feminists like myself forget that progress was made by individuals other than Caucasian, middle/upper-class women. But I also refuse to relegate my thanks to just one holiday or special month in a year. Instead, I will continue to showcase the diversity of involvement in feminism everywhere throughout the year.

As a feminist, the following link caught my eye:

http://msmagazine.com/blog/2014/02/19/how-many-of-these-early-black-feminists-do-you-know/.

While I recognized a few, many I realized had been left out of history classes, and when a brief “women’s history” unit was given, only Virginia Woolf and Mary Wollstonecraft were discussed. So let us educate ourselves in these impressive women’s histories.

But let us also remember that feminism and great accomplishments can come from many types of women, from many types of work, and have inspired women from many different time periods.

http://www.glamour.com/inspired/2014/02/the-most-inspiring-female-celebrities-entrepreneurs-and-political-figures#slide=1

So I urge you, recognize, appreciate, and encourage the great strides around you to honor the multiplicity of great women. As feminists, men and women who believe in gender equality, we need to stick together in order to support one another. Although we are all unique and wonderfully different in our pluralities, we are also unified together by our common goal. We need to appreciate our differences, respecting each other no matter the racial/ethnic, religious, or LGBTQIA community “label” one may choose.

That’s why I want to share one of Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls logos:

We can and need to be kind to one another to support each other. I’ve talked previously about being kind to ourselves when it comes to body image, but the same idea applies to so many other areas of respect.

As an optimist, of course I see progress everywhere. Although the media will always be problematic, I was touched by some of the positive development made in several SuperBowl commercials.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ryanhatesthis/the-only-super-bowl-commercials-worth-watching?sub=2970053_2378728

Of course, I loved the variety of young girls featured in the empowering Goldieblox commercial, the multilingual beauty of America in Coca-Cola’s rendition, and of course the adorable Cheerios feature of a bi-racial family. Growing up, I loved seeing myself represented (physically or character-wise) in movies, the media, and literature. And I wish the same for all the other young ladies out there, so I hope that we continue to show realistic, beautiful, and diverse images of girls and women for us all to look up to. After all, what’s not to love about our multicultural world?

About Margaret Sloss Women's Center - ISU

The Margaret Sloss Women's Center promotes equity on the Iowa State University campus. Through a feminist lens, the center advocates for individuals and groups; provides support, referrals, community and programming; and maintains a safe space in the Sloss House.

Posted on February 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

