Sweet Tweet

Yes, I tweet. I use twitter. I’m a tweeter, twitterer… whatever you want to call it. While a lot of people don’t understand what twitter and I see in each other, I’m here to tell you about a pretty cool twitter community to support women. #WLSalt was designed to support, lift, encourage, and promote women leaders.

One of the founders of this community, @tbump, said in an email to the other founding sisters “I send at least 1 DM (direct message) a day to someone who has publicly diminished herself.  I’m looking to help build their self esteem, self respect, and encourage them to take their place at the table with confidence and the support of women like us. We can create a network of women who value what matters and will enthusiastically help each other achieve, score the best opportunities and see this world as their oyster. Are you in?”

Women and men are encouraged to use #WLSalt for tweets that:
*WL: Women Lead
* Support: Provide support, connections, and resources for leadership, academic, and career opportunities
* Affirm: Highlight the success of women as leaders at all levels
* Lift: Lift up the voices that may be quieted in other venues
* Transform: Facilitate the continued success of woman in higher education

#WLSalt has expanded to having its own twitter handle (@sawomenlead) and blog, www.sawomenlead.com. Just reading through some of the blog posts today have inspired me and challenged me.  And just knowing about this hashtag makes me think more intentionally about my interactions with women.  For example last week I had the chance to sit down with an amazing woman on campus, someone who is getting a dual PhD, has a family, does volunteer work and more.  So having the chance to just sit with her for 20 minutes was a pretty big deal.  I feel like these days if I have a few extra minutes, I jump at the chance to answer a few emails or catch up on facebook. But having real-life interactions with people are huge!  So after our chat, I was inspired and sent a simple tweet. “Glad I took 20 minutes to sit down and chat with a wonderful woman on campus. She balances joint PhD program, family, volunteering #WLSalt.”  It’s meant as a reminder that there are wonderful women out there and that it is valuable to take time to talk with them.  Having the #WLSalt hashtag sends little reminders every day that I am important and I can get through the day.

Be sure to check out #WLSalt on twitter today (April 12) – you’ll see a flood of support from people across the spectrum supporting equal pay for women!

Want to engage on twitter? I’m @mandajeanne.
Amanda Martin is doing a practicum at the Margaret Sloss Women’s Center. She can be reached at amartin@iastate.edu or on twitter at @mandajeanne.

About Margaret Sloss Women's Center - ISU

The Margaret Sloss Women's Center promotes equity on the Iowa State University campus. Through a feminist lens, the center advocates for individuals and groups; provides support, referrals, community and programming; and maintains a safe space in the Sloss House.

Posted on April 12, 2011, in Pop Culture, Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

