Knitting Therapy

It’s getting cold out.  I walked outside this morning and noticed a crisp frost lay on the ground.  And I didn’t have a single knitting project with me!

I have crocheted two hats in the last week – on top of presenting three projects in class, moving back into the Sloss House and getting settled.  No big deal.  I need to work with yarn in a tangible way in order to breathe.  So I take little breaks from paper and project-designing and I sit down with a bag of yarn and some crochet hooks or knitting needles.

There’s an alchemy in taking sticks and strings and turning it into some sort of wearable fabric.  It’s true: I make fabric.  I love the connection between a loved pattern, a loved yarn, and loving creation for a loved one.  It has been over a year since I’ve knit or crochet anything for myself.  Everything I produce has been sent off to friends or family.

I feel that everyone should have a connection with the fibers.  So if you have a desire to knit or crochet – or to learn – join us at the Sloss House every Friday afternoon from 12-1pm.  We have beginner equipment to teach you with, or bring your favorite yarn and tools.  We can’t wait for you to join us!

About Margaret Sloss Women's Center - ISU

The Margaret Sloss Women's Center promotes equity on the Iowa State University campus. Through a feminist lens, the center advocates for individuals and groups; provides support, referrals, community and programming; and maintains a safe space in the Sloss House.

Posted on November 11, 2010, in Arts and Crafts, Health and Wellness, Sloss House and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

